Geoncheonggung (Palace) was once the royal residence of Emperor Gojong (the 26th king of the
Joseon Dynasty) and his wife, Empress Myeongseong, located within Gyeongbokgung complex. It
was reopened to the public on August 15th, 2010 by the Cultural Heritage Administration of Korea as
part of a project to restore the five grand palaces. On the Geoncheonggung site stands Jangandang
(Hall), Emperor Gojong's quarters and Gonnyeonghap (Hall), the quarters of Empress Myeongseong.
The royal residence was a place of innovation, with the first electric lights in Korea being installed
here in 1887, but it is also a tragic place, where Empress Myeongseong was brutally murdered by
Japanese agents. Inside the palace visitors can see some of the royal family's personal possessions.